Competitive Pokémon Sword & Shield: Series 10 Qualifier Battles rules, official Water-type competition and more

It looks like the Pokémon competitive scene is continuing to roll on. Today, we got some news about Pokémon Sword & Shield Qualifier Battles Series 10.

It’s all about the rules that will govern this season, which starts on August 1, 2021 and runs through October 31. Here’s what’s shared:

This ruleset includes a return to the ruleset that was active for Series 6. It allows Pokémon in the Galar Pokédex, Armor Island Pokédex, and now Pokémon in the Crown Snow Pokédex, including other Pokémon not in the dex, such as some Legendary Pokémon and 1 restricted Legendary Pokémon per team. It also prohibits Dinamax. All Pokémon must have a Galar token or the battle token.

On the other hand, a new official in-game competition has also been confirmed. Called Water Paradise, it’s a one-on-one battle competition with only Water-type Pokémon and a 50 PB reward for participating. You can register in-game now until 15 July at 23:59 UTC, while the battles will run from 16 July at 00:00 UTC until 18 July at 23:59 UTC.

Finally, here are the rules for the current Qualifier Battle Series 9, which runs from 1 July at 04:00 UTC until 31 July at 23:59 UTC. Remember that these allowed Pokémon from the Pokédex of Galar, Armour Island, and Crown Snow, including some Legendary Pokémon.

Also, all participating Pokémon must have the appropriate Galar symbol or Ranked Battle symbol, and that no unique Pokémon or restricted Legendary Pokémon are allowed. Here’s a reminder of all the details:

  • Pokémon restrictions: Galar’s Pokédex, Armor Island, Snows of the Crown.
  • They require the corresponding mark to be able to participate in the battle if they are from games prior to Sword and Shield.
  • Pokémon Limit: Team of 3 to 6 Pokémon (single) / 4 to 6 Pokémon (double) from level 1 to 100. All Pokémon are set to level 50.
  • Battle Duration: No limit.
  • Allowed Gigamax: Charizard, Blastoise, Butterfree, Pikachu, Meowth, Machamp, Gengar, Kingler, Lapras, Eevee, Snorlax, Garbodor, Inteleon, Corviknight, Orbeetle, Drednaw, Coalossal, Flapple, Appletun, Sandaconda, Toxtricity, Centiskorch, Hatterene, Grimmsnarl, Alcremie, Copperajah, Duraludon, and Urshifu.
  • Battle time: 20 minutes
  • Your time: 7 minutes
    Team preview: 90 seconds
  • Turn time: 45 seconds