9th Annual New York Game Awards Nominees Announced, Reggie Fils-Aimé Will Also Receive An Award

The New York Videogame Critics Circle has announced the nominees for the 9th Annual New York Game Awards, which will be held later this month on January 21.

Much like the more well-known Annual Game Awards, the New York Game Awards aims to celebrate “the very best games and game developers in the industry”, as well as the circle’s “non-profit work in underserved communities”.

In addition, Reggie Fils-Aimé will be receiving the Andrew Loon Legend Award at the event. This award “recognizes individuals and organizations that exhibit a significant, sustained body of work that shows exceptional achievement and innovation”, and is being presented to Reggie for his role in introducing the Wii, Nintendo DS and Nintendo Switch to the world.

You can find the full list of nominees below, among them many major Nintendo titles like Luigi’s Mansion 3 and Pokemon Sword & Shield.

Big Apple Award for Best Game of the Year

Luigi’s Mansion 3
The Outer Worlds
Outer Wilds
A Plague Tale: Innocence
Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice
Resident Evil 2
Death Stranding
Telling Lies
Disco Elysium

Central Park Children’s Zoo Award for Best Kids Game

Tetris 99
Super Mario Maker 2
Adventure Academy
Luigi’s Mansion 3
Pokémon Sword, Pokémon Shield
Concrete Genie
The King’s Bird

A-Train Award for Best Mobile Game

Immortal Rogue
The Elder Scrolls: Blades
Sayonara Wild Hearts
Rayman Mini
Sky: Children of the Light

Coney Island Dreamland Award for Best AR/VR Game

Nintendo Labo VR Kit
Sea Hero Quest
Minecraft Earth
Trover Saves The Universe
Asgard’s Wrath
Five Nights at Freddy’s VR: Help Wanted
Blood & Truth

Off Broadway Award for Best Indie Game

Ape Out
Sunless Skies
Heaven’s Vault
A Plague Tale: Innocence
Telling Lies
Sayonara Wild Hearts
Disco Elysium
Bloodstained: Ritual of the Night
Untitled Goose Game

Tin Pan Alley Award for Best Music in a Game

Far Cry New Dawn
Tropico 6
Sayonara Wild Hearts
Borderlands 3
Death Stranding
Pokémon Sword, Pokémon Shield
Hypnospace Outlaw

Statue of Liberty Award for Best World

Kingdom Hearts III
Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice
Devil May Cry 5
Death Stranding
The Outer Worlds
Outer Wilds
Hypnospace Outlaw

Herman Melville Award for Best Writing

Telling Lies
The Outer Worlds
Disco Elysium
Hypnospace Outlaw
Plague Tale: Innocence
Death Stranding
Life is Strange 2

Joltin’ Joe Award: Best Esports Player of the Year

VK Loon
Arslan Ash

Great White Way Award for Best Acting in a Game

Faye Kingslee as Nico in Devil May Cry 5
Norman Reedus as Sam in Death Stranding
Margaret Qualley as Mama in
Death Stranding
Courtney Hope as Jesse In Control
Debra Wilson as Cere in Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order
Tommie Earl Jenkins as Die-Hardman in Death Stranding
Alexandra Shipp as Ava in Telling Lies
Logan Marshall Green as David in Telling Lies

Freedom Tower Award for Best Remake

Resident Evil 2
ToeJam & Earl: Back in the Groove!
Katamari Damacy Reroll
Mario & Luigi: Bowser’s Inside Story + Bowser Jr.’s Journey
The Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening
Captain Award for Best Esports Team
Astralis (CSGO)
San Francisco Shock (Overwatch)
FPX (League of Legends)
OG (Dota 2)
TSM (Apex Legends)

What do you think?

Let us know in the comments.

Source: Via